How to hang a horseshoe above your door for good luck

Ever wonder if a horseshoe hung over your door is really good luck or not?  And how do you hang the shoe correctly so that bad luck does not escape?  There are several tales regarding the proper placement so let’s read about the Feng Shui way. I personally use Feng Shui throughout my own in various ways for better energy and flow. The use of a horseshoe as a protective and good luck symbol goes way back, so yes, it is perfectly Feng Shui to have it in your home! The iron horseshoe has a long history as a powerful good luck charm in most Western countries, as well as all over the world. Living here in Lexington, it’s a staple.
3650f02ca8ae6a73ebe76156254ddda98e24b18e43eb62d767e602f2430f2bc1

The horseshoe is usually placed outside the front door (and above it) as a protection symbol, but there is no rule against hanging inside the front door. So, you can use your own judgement as to what looks and feels best for your home. I put mine inside my house because I just love to look at it everyday and, frankly, it makes me happy.  Ahhhh….I love my horseshoe. Sometimes I will walk by and jump up to touch it as if that will bring me even more luck.

Here are 3 Feng Shui tips for hanging your very own and creating your own good luck.

1. Use an actual worn horseshoe and not a brand new one.  An actual, worn horseshoe will be infused with powerful energy as it was used to protect the horse over a long period of time. It will also carry a strong energy imprint of the horse – a strong, free spirited and powerful animal with rich Feng Shui symbolic energy.

2. Hang the horseshoe with the ends pointing upward, not pointing down. This allows for good energy to be stored and collected versus being spilled and lost (which is the case of placing a horseshoe with the two ends pointing down.)  Although, some believe that hanging it this way allows good luck to be caught upward and held, and not released. Hmmm…..Controversy abounds!   Feng Shui dictates picture #1 (ends up).  I want to catch all I can so I’m pointing up.  Plus, the other one looks like a frown…..frowns are bad.

Horseshoe3

3. Do not place an iron horseshoe above a metal door. If you happen to have a metal front door, avoid hanging it over this type of door.It is believed that the metal actually bounces the luck back and keeps it from coming inside. Instead, choose a prominent window of the home or a wide entry in the foyer or hallway if your front door is metal, aka..like most apartment doors.

Now that you have the basics, go out there and find a good, worn shoe and have fun hanging it. If you’re not sure where to find one, try antique stores or get friendly with a farm owner and scope out an old barn. City dwellers can always go to Ebay and have that good luck charm delivered straight to your mailbox. Either way, we all could use a little good luck; horseshoe or not. I’m going with the horseshoe. I live in Lexington so I feel naked without it!

DISCLAIMER…..yes, I need to do this. I am not GOD and cannot make your life fall into place magically. This is for informational/superstitious purposes only and I cannot be held responsible for any luck that might happen on your part, good or bad.

If you need a Realtor® in the Knoxville, TN area, give me a shout. I’m always ready to work and I believe in having a lot of fun while working.  Life is too short for boring!

LeAnn Sink, RealtorServing Knox, Sevier & Blount Counties to include Knoxville, Maryville, Sevierville, and Seymour, TN.  Contact me today so I can start Moving You Forward!

 

Start your Knoxville area home search right now, on my website! Search by city, subdivision, schools, etc.  Or let me do the searching for you.

Contact me and find out how I can help.

search-mls-listing-button

 

10 thoughts on “How to hang a horseshoe above your door for good luck

  1. I like your attitude – listen to what others have said, but make my own decision. My own attitude may have an effect on anyone who comes into my home. I personally like the idea of having the heels upward, making it look kike a smile. That’s how i tend to live my life – not letting others’ attitude effect me as much as the way I behave toward them. I believe God created smiles for many reasons, not the least of which is how I can make others feel better! Blessings to you! Kathy S., The Dalles, OR, USA

    1. I’m in UK your post of the upwards way with horseshoes name me “smile”,I’m just about to turn a couple of downwards ones up!!!!!!
      Many lucky thanks
      Pauline

  2. I’m replying to the horseshoe above the door upright so where else to hang it in the in the hallway near the door on a Different wall

    1. It’s always best to hang the horseshoe over a threshold or doorway as to catch the luck as it enters the house or the room. Never just on a wall.

    1. I have never painted mine as I feel it would alter the original luck and vibe of the shoe. I have lightly cleaned them, brushed them off, etc and hang as is. There is beauty in it’s original form. Hope this helps!

  3. To keep out negativity and bad energy’s above my front door on inside the feet face what direction up or down

Leave a comment